History of the Faculty

The faculty through the ages

The beginnings of the faculty date back to the middle of the 18th century. Starting with cameralistic lectures at the University of Ingolstadt, the LMU Munich School of Management developed in the more than 250 years into an independent and modern faculty with a diverse range of courses and excellent research.With fields of study and research on Artificial Intelligence, Digital Transormation and Innovation Management, the faculty offers future-oriented and sustainable topics.

Mid 18th centuryLectures in cameral sciences at the university in the city of Ingolstadt (Universität Ingolstadt).
1796Founding of an institute for cameral sciences at the Universität Ingolstadt as a "Faculty of State Economics" in anticipation of the move to Landshut, although not yet directly as a faculty.
1804Dissolution of the faculty division at the Universität Landshut and founding of two sections. In the first section ("Section I for Special Sciences"), "Political and Cameral Sciences" are listed third.
1826Official founding of the Faculty for State Economics ("Staatswirtschaftliche Fakultät").
1948Integration of training for business administration graduates ("Diplom-Kaufleute") and commerce teachers ("Diplom-Handelslehrer") from the Technical College of Munich ("Technische Hochschule München" (TH München), known today as the Technical University of Munich (TUM)) into the Faculty for State Economics.
1949/50-1959/60Business Administration develops into a mass study program. The number of students skyrockets from 746 in 1949/50 to 2,500 in 1959/60. In parallel the number of chairs is increased.
1971Division of the Faculty for State Economics into the identically named Faculty for State Economics, and the Faculty of Forestry.
1974Splitting of the Faculty for State Economics into the Faculty of Business Administration and the Faculty of Economics. (This is against the background of the restructuring of the Faculties at the Universität München upon the integration of the Munich-Pasing College of Education in 1972).
1996Introduction of the credit point system.
1998Founding of the interdisciplinary Center for Digital Technology and Management.
1999Start of the doctoral programme Master of Business Research.
2000Founding of the ODEON Center for Entrepreneurship.
2001Expansion of the faculty by additional chairs in the fields of "Innovation" and "Leadership & Learning".
2003First faculty newspaper is published under the name "BWL im Fokus". Foundation of the Management Alumni Network and organisation of the first Faculty Council.
2004Launch of the TOP-BWL partner program of the Management Alumni network.
2005Introduction of the Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. Foundation of the interdisciplinary Center for Internet Research and Media Integration (ZIM) and the Center for Basic Research in Organisational Theory (ZOG).
2006The first issue of the "Munich School of Management Magazine" appears. The course "Schlüsselqualifikation" (Key Qualifications) appears for the first time.
2007International European Master in Management and part-time Executive Master in Insurance starts. Foundation of the LMU Entrepreneurship Center und start of the Mentoring Program. The LMU Center for Advanced Management Studies (CAMS) is promoted.
2008Introduction of the Master of Science in Business Administration. Foundation of the Economics & Business Data Center. Introduction of the O-Phase (orientation) and setting up of the Student Office for Management.
2009Initial structuring of Faculty into areas of expertise/clusters.
2010Start of the new bachelor degree programs in Business Education and introduction of the Master of Science in Business Education. Establishment of the Munich Risk & Insurance Centers. The Master Career Day of the LMU Management Alumni takes place for the first time.
2011Part-time Executive Master of Human Resource Management program is introduced. First scholarships under the Deutschlandstipendium (German Scholarship) program are awarded. Foundation of the Internet Business Cluster (IBC).
2013First online course offered on the Coursera Platform.
2014Founding of the Organizational Research Group.
2016Expansion of the cluster structure to eight clusters and introduction of additional professorships. Start of consecutive Masters program in Media, Management and Digital Technologies.
2022Rebranding to LMU Munich School of Management and introduction of the new logo.